Agere and Intel chipset modems

Modem compatibility and configuration issues.
Post Reply
Chrlyman
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2006 8:20 pm

Agere and Intel chipset modems

Post by Chrlyman » Mon Sep 11, 2006 10:20 am

Attempted to run Ascendis using a Lucent Winsoft modem with an Agere chipset without success. I also tried a new V92 faxmodem with an Intel chipset....still no go. I bought a dusty used conexant HSFI V92 for 5 bucks. It worls like a charm! I love the program so far. Still in trial period but I will most likely purchase it. :lol:

Chrlyman
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2006 8:20 pm

Afterthought re: Conexant HSFI V92 Modem

Post by Chrlyman » Mon Sep 11, 2006 10:24 am

I had to reboot in order for the "modem repair" init. string to take affect but, after that, it works fine.

Bill Root
Site Admin
Posts: 976
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2004 1:29 pm
Location: Perrysburg, OH
Contact:

Re: Afterthought re: Conexant HSFI V92 Modem

Post by Bill Root » Tue Sep 12, 2006 6:28 am

Hello Chrlyman,

It's common for modems to use chipsets that support caller id, but not include the extra bits of electronics to detect it. In such cases the modems usually respond "OK" to commands to enable caller id detection, but then report no caller information. The Repair Modem function waits for a call to come in to see whether the modem actually reports any caller information.

Finest regards,
Bill Root
Ascendis Software

Post Reply