Hang Up After Six Rings

Questions, problems, and other issues for Ascendis Caller ID that aren't covered by the other forums.
Mtaylor361

Hang Up After Six Rings

Post by Mtaylor361 »

Hi! I'm new to the forum. I have been using Ascendis Caller ID for about six months. I'm hoping that some of you guys who are more experienced can help me out.
My question is can a script be used to hang up on a caller after a certain number or rings. Some of my son's girlfriends aren't familiair with proper phone etiquette. I want to teach them that if someone doesn't answer the phone after six rings, they are sleeping, out of the house, or just don't want to talk to them. Talking to them hasn't worked.

I haven't had any experience in writing a script but am eager to learn. Thanks in advance for your help

Michael Taylor
Bill Root
Site Admin

Re: Hang Up After Six Rings

Post by Bill Root »

Hello Mr. Taylor,

Yes, this can be done in a script, although it requires making scripts run every time the phone rings. The downside of this is that, by default, Ascendis Caller ID will speak the caller's name every time. If this is not desired, we can change that too.

The first step is to create a new category:
1) Open Ascendis Caller ID
2) Click the Categories tab
3) Right-click in the Categories list and select "New Category". The "Edit Category" window will appear.
4) Type a meaningful name in the name box
5) Change "Action" to "Advanced"
6) Paste the following into the large white script box:

Code: Select all

// LANGUAGE=DWS

if CallInfo.Rings > 5 then
  HangUp
else if CallInfo.Rings = 1 then
  Speak('Call from ' + CallInfo.Name);
7) Click OK to save the changes and close the window

To use the new category, do the following:
8) Open the Options window (from the toolbar or from the View menu)
9) On the General page, in the "Perform Action" box just above the center of the window, make sure "On each ring" is checked